Skip to content

AutoMod: Suspected Spam Content

This is disabled by default. When enabled, Discord takes action against messages and users that send something it has already flagged as suspected spam content. This often happens when a user — botted or manual — visits many servers or users and sends the exact same message.

What counts as “spam” is arbitrarily up to Discord, but it generally doesn’t produce false positives.

When enabled, you can choose a combination of actions to be taken:

  • Block the message from being sent.
  • Optionally show a small notice message to the user when blocked.
  • Send an alert to a pre-defined channel — for example, to notify staff.

You can also choose channels, categories, and roles where the rule is ignored.

Anyone with the Administrator or Manage Server permission is always ignored. If some of your staff don’t have these permissions, you may need to add their role(s) to the ignore list.

Other bots may offer similar functionality. In that case it’s worth having both enabled at the same time, so they can cover for each other — there’s no harm in using both.