Skip to content

Message Tracking Alerts

This document covers the quirks of message-tracking alerts.

Where normal bots only have “Message Edited” and “Message Deleted”, Archivian is much more specific about what happened. This can lead to some unexpected alerts if you aren’t familiar with it. Instead of just Edited and Deleted, it breaks them down further:

  • Message Content Edited
  • Message Content Deleted
  • Message Attachment Edited
  • Message Attachment Deleted
  • Message Embed Edited
  • Message Embed Deleted

When you track edited messages, you may get alerts about deletions — mostly with embeds and attachments. For example:

A user sends “Hey, check out these pictures of my cats” along with three images. If they delete one of the images, Discord counts this as an edit — it edits the message into a state without the removed image. Archivian detects this as a Message Attachment Deleted, and so sends a “message attachment was deleted” alert even though it was technically an edit.

If you track edits and deletions and send both to the same channel, there’s nothing noteworthy here. But if you send edits and deletions to different channels, or have deletion tracking disabled while edit tracking is enabled, you may get unexpected alerts.

For example, your edits channel may receive alerts about parts of a message being deleted, despite being the channel for edits. The deletions channel, however, only ever receives deletion alerts.

There’s a difference when tracking one or the other, too: if a message attachment is removed, the alert says “deleted”, but it’s an edit and is stored as an edit.

If a message with text is outright deleted, and it had attachments and embeds, a separate alert is sent for each type of content that ceased to exist:

  • Message Content Deleted
  • Message Attachment(s) Deleted
  • Message Embed(s) Deleted

Multiple items of the same type are merged into one alert. So if a message had text, 2 images, and 3 embeds, you’d get:

  • 1 “message content deleted” alert,
  • 1 “message attachments deleted” alert listing the 2 attachments, and
  • 1 “message embeds deleted” alert listing the 3 embeds.

See Channel Management for how to configure tracking and alerting.